The communications team at Together for Short Lives can brief journalists about the work of the charity, our campaigns and fundraising activities, as well as provide information on the issues facing children with life-shortening conditions and their families, and the support available to them.

To find out more about Together for Short Lives and the work we do, download our media factsheet.

Communications team

For initial PR and media enquiries, please contact Myra Johnson and Jo Barrell. 

Myra Johnson, Director of Communications
myra.johnson@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 910 2469
07775 336460

Jo Barrell, Communications Manager
jo.barrell@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7832
07539 507028

Full contact details for the rest of the team can be found below:

Tim Young, Digital and Engagement Manager
tim.young@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7862

James Cooper, Policy and Public Affairs Manager
james.cooper@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7863

Guy Privett, Membership Engagement Officer
guy.privett@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7834

Katrina Kelly, Communications Officer
katrina.kelly@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 910 2468

Helen Curry, Communications Officer
helen.curry@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7830 

Patrick McKenna, Policy and Public Affairs Officer
patrick.mckenna@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7861

Cat Armstrong, Events Administrator
cat.armstrong@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7820

Emma Dixon, External Relations Assistant
emma.dixon@togetherforshortlives.org.uk
0117 989 7831

Spokespeople

Our spokespeople are available for briefings, interviews or comment. Please contact the communications team to arrange interviews or request comments.

Barbara Gelb OBE, Chief Executive
Topics: Work of Together for Short Lives; issues relating to the children’s palliative care sector; funding in the children’s palliative care sector. 

Shaun Walsh, Director of External Affairs
Topics: Policy and public affairs; work of Together for Short Lives; issues relating to the children’s palliative care sector; funding in the children’s palliative care sector. 

Lizzie Chambers, Development Director
Topics: The role of Together for Short Lives; history and development of children’s palliative care; family experiences; transition from children’s to adult services; and the need to integrate services.

Myra Johnson, Director of Communications
Topics: General comment on Together for Short Lives and children’s palliative care.

Katrina McNamara, Director of Service Development and Improvement
Topics: Clinical issues affecting life-limited children and young people and the care services available to them.

Stephen Ballantyne, Executive Director of Fundraising
Topics: Fundraising campaigns and issues; charity of the year partnerships with corporate partners; and fundraising in the children’s hospice sector.

Parent spokespeople and family case studies are also available on request